Change Habit and Get Success: Who Am I

Here’s a short poem from Jack D. Hodge that is worth remembering as
to understand habit to change

Who Am I?

I am your constant companion. I am your greatest helper or
heaviest burden. I will push you onward or drag you down to
failure. I am completely at your command. Half the things you do
you might as well turn over to me and I will be able to do them
quickly and correctly.

I am easily managed – you must merely be firm with me. Show me
exactly how you want something done and after a few lessons I
will do it automatically. I am the servant of all great
individuals and, alas, of all failure as well. Those who are
great, I have made great. Those who are failure, I have made
failures.

I am not a machine, though I work with all the precision of a
machine plus the intelligence of a human. You may run me for a
profit or run me for ruin – it makes no difference to me.

Take Me, train me, be firm with me and I will place the world at
your feet. Be easy with me and I will destroy you.

Who am I?

I am Habit

RelatedPosts:

What is the Role of Luck in Getting Success ?

The Role of Concentration in Achieving Success Why only Arjun Passed The Dron’s Test?

आपका मस्तिष्क दुनिया का सबसे बड़ा सुपर कम्प्यूटर

अनुभव कोष की बढ़त ही आपकी बढ़त

One thought on “Change Habit and Get Success: Who Am I

  1. Dear Jayanti Jain… Although I know that good habits are a doorway to success. Especially when the stress is high its habits which save a person (For example good driving habits or examination drills or drills done by soldiers). Its all related to formation of neural networks by repeatedly doing a particular thing in a particular way.

    However, when it comes to the next level its the undoing of habits which is more important. Because at the next stage when a person lives with full awareness, his each and every task is full of awareness. Its not robotic habits which do the work. There is full awareness in walking, in eating…. in everything with enough pause to be aware of the awareness. But yes.. till then habits will suffice!

Leave a comment