Selected Wilma Rudolph Quotations

• I believe in me more than anything in this world.

• Never underestimate the power of dreams and the influence of the human spirit. We are all the same in this notion. The potential for greatness lives within each of us.

• I walked with braces until I was at least nine years old. My life wasn’t like the average person who grew up and decided to enter the world of sports.

• My doctors told me I would never walk again. My mother told me I would. I believed my mother.

• I ran and ran and ran every day, and I acquired this sense of determination, this sense of spirit that I would never, never give up, no matter what else happened.

• The triumph can’t be had without the struggle. And I know what struggle is. I have spent a lifetime trying to share what it has meant to be a woman first in the world of sports so that other young women have a chance to reach their dreams.

• I tell them that the most important aspect is to be yourself and have confidence in yourself. I remind them the triumph can’t be had without the struggle.

• No matter what accomplishments you make, somebody helps you.

.  When the sun is shining I can do anything; no mountain is too high, no trouble too difficult.

• When I was going through my transition of being famous, I tried to ask God why was I here? what was my purpose? Surely, it wasn’t just to win three gold medals. There has to be more to this life than that.

Related Posts:

Polio Ridden Fastest Athlete: Wilma Rudolph



One response to this post.

  1. t’s such a important site. fabulous, quite interesting!!!

    ——-

    Opony
    Pozycjonowanie

    opony

    Reply

Leave a Reply

